Gluten-Free Diet
What is it? Overview Usage Side Effects and Warnings
Answers
askAsk

Gluten-Free Food Pyramid

Written by vikdad1, Olivia Cerf, ColleenO.

Following a gluten-free diet can be difficult to adjust to, especially if you have been recently diagnosed with celiac disease. The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) developed MyPyramid, which provides guidelines for healthy eating and focuses on six food groups. While MyPyramid is intended for the general population, below are some suggestions for eating gluten-free while following the USDA’s food guidelines.

Grains

Out of all of the food groups, the grain group poses the most problems for people with celiac disease. This is because many of these products contain gluten. But there are gluten-free choices, including:

link text
Quinoa = Gluten Free!

- Amaranth - Bean flour - Corn flour and corn meal - Potato flour - Rice flour and rice - Soy flour - Flax - Millet - Quinoa - Oats—These are naturally gluten-free, but are often processed with wheat products. Some companies sell “uncontaminated” oats.

When shopping, check the food label to see if the product is labeled as “gluten-free.” Regular grocery stores may offer some of these products, but natural food stores will have a larger selection—like gluten-free breads, cereals, pasta, and tortillas. You can also order these products online.

How Much Per Day? 5-8 ounces, depending on your age, gender, and level of physical activity

Vegetables

link text
All Vegetables work (but avoid breaded!)

You can eat nearly all types of fresh, frozen, and canned veggies. You should avoid vegetables in sauce since sauces could contain gluten. Also avoid any veggies that are breaded, as well as French fries. Other than that, you can enjoy a variety of veggies during your day, like broccoli, lettuce, spinach, carrots, corn, peas, and eggplant.

How Much Per Day? 2-3 cups, depending on your age, gender, and level of physical activity

Fruits

As with the veggie group, you will be able to enjoy a range of fresh and frozen fruits. Most canned fruits are also safe to eat, especially those that are packed in natural juices. But double-check the label for any gluten additives. If you like dried fruit, remember to look at the list of ingredients. Some dried fruits have been dusted with flour to prevent the pieces from sticking together. You will need to avoid fruits in sauce and fruit pie fillings since these, too, may have additives.

link text
Dried fruits often contain wheat

A Note About Additives: Many additives contain gluten. To follow a gluten-free diet, familiarize yourself with these additives so that you will be able to spot them on food labels. There are some additives that are safe for you to eat. A few examples include gelatin, maltodextrin, sorbitol, and xanthan gum.

How Much Per Day? 1½ to 2 cups, depending on your age, gender, and level of physical activity

Dairy

All types of products made from milk fall into this category. Many people with celiac disease also develop a sensitivity to dairy. If dairy isn't a problem for you, good gluten-free options include aged cheeses, plain yogurt, and cream. Fresh, dried, and evaporated milk are all okay for you to consume. Avoid malted milk since it has barley and wheat. Also, keep in mind that chocolate milk and other flavored milk drinks may have gluten. Be sure to read the labels of cheese sauces and spreads, which may contain additives. In addition, flavored yogurt, frozen yogurt, and ice cream may have either additives or ingredients (like cookie dough or granola) that include gluten.

How Much Per Day? 3 cups

Meats and Beans

link text
Fresh Fish - Gluten-free & Delicious!

You have a lot of options with this food group. Fresh fish, poultry, and meat are all safe to eat. You can also have eggs, tuna canned in oil or water, plain nuts, and legumes (beans, peas, and lentils). Try to avoid processed meats, like cold cuts, hot dogs, and sausages, which may have wheat fillers. Meat marinades, flavorings, and seasonings should also be on the “do not eat” list. Also keep in mind that imitation seafood and meat (eg, veggie burgers), as well as anything breaded, contain gluten.

How Much Per Day? 5 to 6½ ounces, depending on your age, gender, and level of physical activity

Fats and Oils

Many people get fat in their diet by eating common oils like olive, canola, and corn oil. Other sources of fat include nuts, olives, oily fish (eg, salmon), avocados, mayonnaise, salad dressings, and butter. Mayonnaise and some salad dressings and margarines may contain gluten, but gluten-free varieties are available in stores and online.

How Much Per Day? 6-7 teaspoons, depending on your age, gender, and level of physical activity

References

Enter section content...

 
Share

1 Comment

Posted 6 years ago

This is Mark Sisson's pyramid from his "Primal Blueprint " books his blog at marksdailyapple.com. Grains of kinds should be eliminated or restricted on a healthy human diet. Grains are not human foods, they're what food eats!

Helpful?
0
0 0

Your Comment